PrintEmail[-][+]Share

Transition to Sustainable Living

We are living in one the greatest eras of change in human history.
 
Over-population, unstable fuel prices, resource wars, the wobbling globalized economy and the growing evidence of the rapidly changing climate, are the most notable signs.
 
Inevitably, the challenges from Peak Oil and Climate Change, and their knock-on effects, will force us to rethink our current over-dependence on fossil fuels.
 
The good news is that signs of changes are happening in Hong Kong and elsewhere. Businesses and governments are now talking about and acting on sustainability and carbon-reduction. Communities are coming together, in ways that have not been seen for a long time, to seek cleaner air, waste reduction and nature conservation. Support for sustainable urban agriculture and social enterprise is growing. Farmers markets, community co-operatives, eco-living, and 'buy-local' are all back in fashion. These things are more than a trend, they are part of a profound shift in the way we live our lives.
 
We each need to seriously consider what we want our world to be like in 2030 and beyond and take action to make that vision happen.
 
Rather than ignoring the signs and sleepwalking into disaster, we must embrace the inevitable changes positively, in an organized way. We have an opportunity to bring our communities closer together to dream, to plan how we can live with less fossil fuel consumption, and to follow more sustainable ways of living, that are in line with the needs of our soil, soul and society.
 
To live well with less fossil fuels we have to seek ways to supply our core needs, such as food and water, as locally as possible. Shifting towards localization contributes to an overall energy-descent, which in turn enhances our community resilience by contributing to local economies, reducing our oil vulnerability and carbon emissions.
 
Click here to learn some starting points for transition to sustainable living:.

列印[-][+]分享此頁

邁向永續生活

我們現正身處人類歷史上鉅變的一個年代。

持續不穩的燃料價格、資源戰爭、動盪不穩的全球化經濟,以及不斷浮現的氣候急劇變化證據都是最顯著的鉅變先兆。

無可避免地,石油供應頂峰及氣候變化以及其帶來的間接影響,將驅使我們脫離現時對化石燃料的過份依賴。
不過好消息是,這些變化的徵兆正在各地發生。商界及各國政府都在討論和實行更具可持續性及減碳的方案。社區及團體亦史無前例地,熱衷尋求改善空氣質素、減廢及自然保育的進程。 對於永續都市耕作及社會企業的支援亦愈來愈強大。農墟、社區協作、環保生活及支持本地生產等演變為社會熱話。這些轉變不只展示大勢所趨,更反映著我們生活模式的重大演變。

只需要認真思考我們希望2030年的世界變成怎樣,我們就清楚明白要怎樣行動去實現願景。
與其漠視地球給予的徵兆,像沸水煮青蛙一樣不知不覺步進災難之中,倒不如正面及有組織地為無可避免的變化作好對策,善用這個凝聚社區群體的機遇,共同為的更美好的願景而努力。逐步降減我們對化石燃料的依賴,採納更具可持續性的生活模式,貼近回應我們的大地、心靈及社會的需求。

既要降減化石燃料需求,又要改善生活質素,大家必須尋求更在地的方式來滿足我們對糧食及水源等核心需求。降減依賴化石燃料的本土發展方向,能裨益本地經濟、減少及碳排放及石油供應對民生的影響,繼而加強社會抗逆的韌性及復甦能力。

請按此處查閱永續生活轉化行動的起步點。