Print[-][+]Share

Old Tai Po Police Station

A historical photograph of Old Tai Po Police Station dated to 1905

Located on a small hill at Wan Tau Kok, the Old Tai Po Police Station was the first permanent Police Station built in the New Territories. The site of the Police Station was the location where the British flag-raising ceremony took place, marking the official British takeover of the New Territories in 1899. The administrative headquarters of the New Territories was also fixed at Tai Po, which was considered as the most central position of the New Territories.

The Old Tai Po Police Station was used as the Police Headquarters of the New Territories until 1949. The building was then used by different sections of the Police Force, such as the police Divisional Office and Regional Crime-Prevention Office of the Northern New Territories. The building was closed down when the new Tai Po Police Station came into service in 1987.

The Antiquities Advisory Board accorded the Old Tai Po Police Station Grade 1 Historic Building status in December 2009.

On 16th September 2010, the Development Bureau announced that Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden (KFBG) had been selected to transform the Old Tai Po Police Station into a 'Green Hub for Sustainable Living' under the Batch II of the "Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme" (Revitalisation Scheme).

In revitalising the Green Hub, KFBG adopted an integrated approach to conserve the historic, architectural and ecological values of the site.

At the Green Hub a range of low-carbon living programmes, and residential transformative workshops are now provided, to help individuals and organisations understand the low-carbon living alternatives to unsustainable consumption that is causing climate change and rapid resource depletion.

The Green Hub started operation in August 2015.

列印[-][+]分享此頁

舊大埔警署(攝於1905年)

舊大埔警署位處於大埔運頭角一個的小山丘上,是新界首間永久警署,其所在地是殖民地政府在1899年接管新界時舉行升旗典禮的地點。鑑於大埔被殖民地政府視為新界中心,大埔因而成為新界的行政總部。

直至1949年,舊大埔警署一直被用作新界警察總部。其後舊大埔警署曾用作為分區警署、新界北總區防止罪案組辦事處等不同警務。直到1987年,新的大埔分區警署啟用後,舊大埔警署始停止運作。

舊大埔警署於2009年獲古物諮詢委員會評為一級歷史建築。

2010年9月16日,發展局選定嘉道理農場暨植物園為合作伙伴,藉第二期「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」(簡稱「活化計劃」)將該歷史建築群活化成「綠匯學苑」,以推廣永續生活。

在活化工程上,嘉道理農場暨植物園採納了綜合策略,保育舊大埔警署的歷史、建築及生態價值。

日後綠匯學苑將提供多元化的啓迪教育及低碳生活項目,促進公眾及團體了解更具永續性的生活模式,積極回應氣候變化及資源枯竭等問題。

綠匯學苑已於2015年8月啓用。