Print[-][+]Share

The Green Hub Interpreter Training Course

The Green Hub Interpreter Training Course

Objectives

The Green Hub (the Old Tai Po Police Station) is a unique heritage place which is historically, architecturally and ecologically significant. Heritage tour is one of our important education programme to arouse public appreciation of and support for, heritage conservation and sustainable living in Hong Kong. The aim of this training course is to equip people who are interested to become Green Hub’s interpreter with basic knowledge and skills, to help us guide the heritage tour and let visitors understand how the revitalisation project has conserved the historic and architectural values of the building, as well as the trees and the egretry of ecological importance at the Old Tai Po Police Station.

About Green Hub

Under the Revitalising Historic Buildings through Partnership Scheme (the R-Scheme), Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden (KFBG) adopted an integrated approach to conserve the Old Tai Po Police Station and transform the historic heritage site into a Green Hub for sustainable living. Today, the Green Hub is an inspirational educational centre and offers wide-ranging educational opportunities for the public. Often described as a green oasis in the concrete jungle, it is a pioneer of low-carbon diet, and green architecture, a place for transformative education and an incubator for community collaboration on appropriate, affordable and sustainable alternatives.

About the Old Tai Po Police Station

Located on a small hill at Wan Tau Kok, the Old Tai Po Police Station was the first permanent Police Station built in the New Territories. The site of the Police Station was the location where the British flag-raising ceremony took place, marking the official British takeover of the New Territories from China in 1899. The administrative headquarters of the New Territories was also fixed at Tai Po, which was considered as the most central position of the New Territories.

The Old Tai Po Police Station was used as the Police Headquarters of the New Territories until 1949. The building was then used by different sections of the Police Force, such as the police Divisional Office and Regional Crime-Prevention Office of the Northern New Territories. The building was closed down when the new Tai Po Police Station came into service in 1987.

The Antiquities Advisory Board accorded the Old Tai Po Police Station Grade 1 Historic Building status in December 2009. Under the R-Scheme, KFBG collaborates with the Development Bureau to transform the Old Tai Po Police Station into a 'Green Hub for Sustainable Living'. The Green Hub started operation in 2015.

Programme Details

  • Interview
  • Training sessions content:
    • Introduction of The Green Hub Interpreter Scheme
    • The integrated conservation strategies of the Green Hub
    • The architectural and ecological feature of the Green Hub
    • The history of New Territories and local Market
    • Transition Town movement
    • The Green Hub sustainable living education programme
    • Basic interpretation knowledge and skill
  • Examination
  • Practicum

Remarks:

  • Commitment: Complete 30 hours service for Green Hub activities after passing the Examination.

  • Deposit: HK$800. Total amount will be refunded when the whole training course and volunteer service are completed on or before a pre-set period.

Venue

Green Hub, 11 Wan Tau Kok Lane, Tai Po, Hong Kong

Target Group

  • Hong Kong citizen aged 18 or above
  • Appreciate sustainable lifestyle
  • Interested in nature and heritage conservation
  • Willing to commit as a volunteer for guiding tour on weekdays (mostly) and weekends
  • Able to work in an outdoor environment
  • Good presentation and communication skills
  • Able to speak fluent Cantonese, basic English and Mandarin
  • Able to attend two full-day trainings are preferred.

No. of Participants

30

How to apply

The upcoming Course Date will be announced soon.

Enquiry

Please contace Miss Leung at 2996 2833  / janiceleung@kfbg.org

列印[-][+]分享此頁

綠匯學苑導賞員培訓課程

目標

嘉道理農場暨植物園的綠匯學苑項目,期望透過綜合保育及彰顯舊大埔警署獨特的歷史、建築及生態價值,令綠匯學苑成為向公眾宣掦文物欣賞及保育的地標。導賞服務是綠匯學苑其中一項重要的教育活動。本課程旨為有興趣成為綠匯學苑導賞員人士提供培訓,以協助帶領導賞,向公眾介紹舊大埔警署的歷史、如何保存歷史建築的特色、以及警署內及周邊的生態保育工作,從而提昇公眾對香港的保育及可持續發展的認識及關注。

關於綠匯學

嘉道理農場暨植物園(本園)榮獲香港特別行政區政府選定為合作伙伴,藉第二期「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」(簡稱「活化計劃」),透過全面的保育策略,將舊大埔警署歷史建築群活化成綠匯學苑以推廣永續生活。綠匯學苑被形容為城市中的綠洲,是綠色建築及低碳飲食的典範。今天,綠匯學苑為公眾提供多元化的教育活動,並致力倡議適切並人人可負擔得來的永續生活模式。

關於舊大埔警署

舊大埔警署位處於大埔運頭角一個的小山丘上,是新界首間永久警署,其所在地是殖民地政府在1899年接管新界時舉行升旗典禮的地點。昔日大埔被殖民地政府視為新界的中心,因而發展大埔為新界的行政總部。

直至1949年,舊大埔警署一直是新界的警察總部。其後舊大埔警署曾被用作為分區警署、新界北總區防止罪案組辦事處等不同警務。直到1987年,新的大埔分區警署啟用後,舊大埔警署便停止運作。

舊大埔警署於2009年獲古物諮詢委員會評為一級歷史建築。藉第二期「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」(簡稱「活化計劃」)將該歷史建築群活化成「綠匯學苑」,以推廣永續生活。綠匯學苑已於2015年正式啓用。

課程概要

  • 面試
  • 課堂:
    • 綠匯學苑導賞員計劃簡介
    • 綠匯學苑的綜合保育策略
    • 舊大埔警罯的建築及生態特色
    • 新界及本地墟市的歷史
    • 轉化城鎮運動
    • 綠匯學苑的永續生活教育項目介紹
    • 基本導賞知識及技巧
  • 考試
  • 導賞實習

備註:

  • 要求和承諾:學員必須承諾出席兩天培訓課程及於考試合格後參與30小時義工服務。
  • 按金:$800。若參加者於指定日期前完成所有課程及義務工作,按金將全額退回。

培訓地點

綠匯學苑 (舊大埔警署) 大埔 運頭角里11號

參加資格

  • 年滿18歲或以上的香港永久性居民
  • 熱衷並欣賞低碳生活
  • 對自然及歷史保育感興趣
  • 願意承諾義務參與導賞服務 (週日及假期)
  • 能夠於戶外環境工作
  • 表達能力良好,樂於與人分享及溝通
  • 粵語流利,能操普通話及英語者更佳
  • 能出席所有兩天培訓課程

名額

30位

申請

請留意本網頁的最新公佈

查詢

2996 2833 / janiceleung@kfbg.org 與梁小姐聯絡