Print[-][+]Share

Architectural Significance

An aerial view of Green Hub Main Building, 2015

The Old Tai Po Police Station was erected at Tai Po in 1899. It was located on a knoll adjacent to Pun Chung Village, from where the entire Tai Po area could be overlooked.

It was described in the Report of the Director of Public Works for 1899 as “a large permanent Police Station containing 12 rooms besides kitchen and out-offices, with accommodation for 5 Europeans, and 32 Indians or Chinese Constables.” According to the Report on the New Territories, 1899-1912, the total number of police in New Territories was  148 - 32 Europeans, 89 Indians and 27 Chinese distributed among 13 stations. So in 1899, around one-quarter of the NT force was stationed in Tai Po.

The Site mainly comprises of three buildings: Main Building, Canteen Block and Staff Quarters. The three buildings are arranged around an open lawn. The functional arrangement of the Old Tai Po Police Station reflects the general layout of a Police Station at that time. A charge room is located near the public entrance. Cells are located next to the internal courtyard where they are more secure.  Sleeping quarters are found within the site.

Being the first permanent building erected by the Colonial Government in the area serving as the Police Headquarters of the entire New Territories, it is possible that staff quarters were also provided here for Mr. Edwin Richard Hallifax, Police Magistrate and Assistant Superintendent of Police of the New Territories. Residential units with a living room, dining room, bedroom, and lavatory were located here.

A hierarchy can be seen at the site, with the eastern part of the Main Building built on an elevated platform which makes it higher than the rest of the structures. Such design implies that the function of this part of the building was of greater importance than the others, and probably housed the most senior officer. In contrast, the Staff Quarters were built along the slope at a lower level than the Main Building.

Old Tai Po Police Station was built with features of the Colonial period, namely verandah and louvre windows which catered for the hot and humid climate in Hong Kong. The Chinese-style pan and roll tiles supported on timber battens and purlins also showed the choice of local construction methods.

The design of the Old Tai Po Police Station reflected a utilitarian approach, which adopted a rather irregular form for the Main Building. The significance of the Main Building is evidenced by apparently more decorative detailing in the western-styled architectural features, such as the Dutch gables, windows with voussoir-shaped mouldings and aprons, ornamented fireplaces, chimneys with moulding and cast iron downpipes with hopper-head.

The Green Hub engaged the Centre for Architectural Heritage Research of the Chinese University of Hong Kong as heritage conservation consultant to ensure that the architectural features of the buildings are well preserved and presented in our heritage education programmes.

列印[-][+]分享此頁

俯瞰舊大埔警署主樓(攝於 2015年)

舊大埔警署建於1899年,位處大埔畔涌村旁的小山丘上,俯瞰著整個大埔區域及吐露港。

1899年度的公務署長報告(Report of the Director of Public Works for 1899) ,把舊大埔警署形容為「一所大型的永久警署,除廚房及辦公室外,另設有12間室房,為5名歐洲、32名印度及華籍警員提供居所。」於1912年呈交的新界報告( Report on the New Territories, 1899-1912) 數據顯示, 相對於1899年全新界十三個警崗的警員總人數只有148人而言(32名歐洲、89名印度及27名華籍警員),當時駐守大埔的警力佔新界整體的四份之一。

舊大埔警署主要由三所建築組成,分別為主樓、飯堂大樓及職員宿舍;三所建築環繞著一片開揚的草坪而建設。舊大埔警署的功能性結構,充分反映了當時警署的典型佈局:主樓的入口旁設有報案室,羈留室則被安置於警署內園地帶以加強保安,署內亦設有警員宿房。

舊大埔警署是殖民政府於新界興建的首座永久建築,亦是當年的新界警察總部。舊大埔警署內設有一套包含起居室、飯廳、睡房及衛生間的居所,可能曾被當年身兼新界助理警察司及巡理府的夏理德先生用作宿舍。

舊大埔警署建築群的整體外觀,顯示著不同部分的等級區別。興建在地台較高處的主樓東翼,其高位反映著這部份建築的重要功能,此空間亦可能為最高官階人仕所用;相反,職員宿舍則興建在地面較主樓低的下坡處。

舊大埔警署的遊廊及百葉窗,均為適應香港潮濕而炎熱的氣候而設,是典型的殖民時期建築特色。屋面瓦片、金字瓦頂及木樑的構造,則反映著本地建築方法的應用。

舊大埔警署採用了實用主義的建築風格,主樓外形較為不規則。主樓的壁爐、荷蘭式山牆、楔形拱石及窗臺口粉飾,經修飾的煙囪、鑄鐵製的雨水渠及組件等西方建築的裝飾細節,均顯示主樓在建築群中地位超然。

綠匯學苑與香港中文大學建築文化遺產研究中心緊密合作,確保建築群的建築特色得以妥善保存,並在教育活動中向公眾展示。