PrintEmail[-][+]Share

Welcome to the Green Hub, a centre for sustainable living.

Green Hub (Old Tai Po Police Station)

Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden (KFBG) was selected by the Hong Kong SAR Government in 2010 to transform the heritage site, in Hong Kong's New Territories, into a "Green Hub for Sustainable Living" under Batch II of the  "Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme" (Revitalisation Scheme).

The Green Hub has reimagined the Old Tai Po Police Station, a Grade 1 listed historic building built in 1899, to demonstrate how we can live sustainably while at the same time respecting nature and respecting each other.

Visitors are invited to enjoy our locally-sourced, healthy food; join one of our transformative educational courses; learn about community events; engage with a network of community members who care about living lightly on our planet; and experience the beauty of this tranquil heritage site.

The Green Hub offers solutions to the challenges facing us in finding harmony with the natural world. Such challenges include the widespread disconnection between people and nature, over-population, an economic order that demands limitless growth, and over-exploits biodiversity and resources, causing the collapse of ecosystems, runaway climate change, and endangers our food security.

Our role is to “help people help themselves” by seeking a lifestyle in tune with nature and with their local community, and for us all to lead lower-carbon lives.

列印[-][+]分享此頁

綠匯學苑-永續生活的學習園地
綠匯學苑(舊大埔警署)

2010年,嘉道理農場暨植物園(本園)獲香港特別行政區政府選定為合作伙伴,藉第二期「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」(簡稱「活化計劃」),將舊大埔警署歷史建築群活化成綠匯學苑以推廣永續生活。

「舊大埔警署」於1899年落成,現已被列為一級歷史建築。綠匯學苑項目把歷史建築群轉化為向大眾推廣永續生活的基地,並展示彼此尊重及尊重自然的精神。

綠匯學苑的訪客,可以在慧食堂品嘗主要以本土食材製作的健康美食、參加啓迪教育課程、了解社區的永續發展動向、結識志同道合的社區朋友並互相交流永續生活心得。訪客亦可以選擇單純地欣賞歷史建築群的恬靜美態。

今天人類與自然疏離,持續地追求無止的經濟增長,過度開發天然資源及削弱生物多樣性,因而導致生態系統失衡、氣候變化情況劇、糧食安全威脅等問題-綠匯學苑致力就這些嚴峻的挑戰倡議對策。

綠匯學苑以「助人自助」的模式,協助大眾實踐低碳生活,重建個人與社會及自然的和諧相依關係。